Order Of Canada Ceremony

The Order of Canada, created in 1967, one of our country’s highest civilian honours, recognizes outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation. Close to 7,000 people from all sectors of society have been invested into the Order. Today 44 more will be recognized.


In a ceremony this morning the Governor General, the right honourable Julie Payette, invested 10 Officers and 34 Members into the Order of Canada including the remaining members of the Tragically Hip.


The late Gord Downie received his insignia in a ceremony in July, now Robert Baker, John Philip Fay, Paul Joseph Daniel Langlois and Robert Gordon Sinclair will have received theirs.


Also receiving honours is Alex Trebek who is being named as an Officer of the Order of Canada.


The full list of recipients is as follows:



David G. Barber, O.C. Winnipeg, Man.
Gloria Cranmer Webster, O.C. Alert Bay, B.C.
Denis Daneman, O.C. Toronto, Ont.
Anne Giardini, O.C. Vancouver, B.C.
Bryan Kolb, O.C. Lethbridge, Alta.
Richard Borshay Lee, O.C. Toronto, Ont.
Denis Marleau, O.C., C.Q. Montréal, Que.
Craig McClure, O.C. Toronto, Ont.
Charles Haskell Tator, O.C.
This is a promotion within the Order.
Toronto, Ont.
Alex Trebek, O.C. Sudbury, Ont. and Los Angeles, California, U.S.A.


Jan Andrews, C.M. (posthumous) Lanark, Ont.
Wesley Armour, C.M. Moncton, N.B.
Robert E. Baker, C.M. Kingston and Toronto, Ont.
Manon Barbeau, C.M., O.Q. Montréal, Que.
Donna June Bennett, C.M. Campbellford, Ont.
René-Luc Blaquière, C.M. Montréal, Que.
Paul Michael Boothe, C.M. London, Ont.
André Bourbeau, C.M., C.Q. Dunham, Que.
Bonnie Brooks, C.M. Toronto, Ont.
Katherine Carleton, C.M. Peterborough, Ont.
Elaine Carty, C.M. Vancouver, B.C.
Louise Champoux-Paillé, C.M., C.Q. Montréal, Que.
Janet Ecker, C.M. Ajax, Ont.
John Philip Fay, C.M. Kingston and Toronto, Ont.
Brian Leslie Finley, C.M. Campbellford, Ont.
George Norman Hillmer, C.M. Ottawa, Ont.
Anne-Marie Hubert, C.M. Montréal, Que.
Gregory S. Kealey, C.M. Fredericton, N.B.
Rudy Koehler, C.M. Toronto, Ont.
France Labelle, C.M. Montréal, Que.
Patricia Anne Lang, C.M. Thunder Bay, Ont.
Paul Joseph Daniel Langlois, C.M. Kingston and Toronto, Ont.
Clarence Louie, C.M., O.B.C. Oliver, B.C.
Linda E. McKnight, C.M. Toronto, Ont.
Pierre Morrissette, C.M. Oakville, Ont.
Terrance Paul, C.M. Membertou, N.S.
Gerald Pond, C.M., O.N.B. Rothesay, N.B.
Strinivasan Reddy, C.M., O.M. Winnipeg, Man.
Jean Lucien Rouleau, C.M. Montréal, Que.
Isaac Schiff, C.M. Toronto, Ont. and Boston, Massachusetts, U.S.A.
Robert Gordon Sinclair, C.M. Kingston and Toronto, Ont.
David Steinberg, C.M. Winnipeg, Man. and Bel-Air,
California, U.S.A.
Michael A. Walker, C.M. Nanoose Bay, B.C.
William Price Wilder, C.M. Toronto, Ont.


If you would like to know more about the ceremony, the Order of Canada, or the recipients you can find all of that information here.


Image from www.gg.ca

Posted in All Stories, News & Sports Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,

+ Follow Us


+ Upcoming Events

  1. Ancaster Horticultural Society Meeting

    February 20 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm
  2. 16th Annual Soupfest

    February 21 @ 11:30 am - 8:30 pm
  3. Totally Radical 80’s Time Travel Adventure Escape Room

    February 22 @ 5:30 pm - 8:30 pm
  4. Waterford Legion Wings N Things

    February 23 @ 5:00 pm - 7:00 pm
  5. Oakville Centre for the Performing Arts – Peking Acrobats

    February 23 @ 8:00 pm - 11:00 pm

+ On-Air & Shows